Essex Local Authorities

Essex is made up of 15 Local Planning Authorities including City, District, Borough, Unitary and County Councils. The tables within this section set out the key policy requirements for each local planning authority area. Each of the following pages set out how the Essex Design Guide should be used within each Local Planning Authority area, how it relates to locally adopted design guidance and references the other key policy and supporting documents. Although the Essex Design Guide references best place making practice, in general terms the Essex Design Guide is has less significance to the Unitary Planning Authorities where they have alternative adopted Highways standards.   

Page updated: 31/01/2018

Make the most of the Essex Design Guide, register today

As well as ensuring you are always in the know about future changes and updates to the Essex Design Guide, registering with us will enable to you to add and manage bookmarks throughout the site, so your most-used areas of the guide are always easy to find.

Register for updates

© 2024 Copyright Essex County Council. All rights reserved.